Our School‎ > ‎


The governors meet twice a term in order to support and challenge the school so that improvements are consistently reviewed and evaluated. The governors make visits to the school to observe the activities of the children and to inspect the school building. They are involved in shortlisting and interviewing candidates for staff appointments. To assist the governors in carrying out their duties they attend training sessions organised by the Local Authority.

Governing Body 2017-8

The Chair of the Governing Body is Mr Stephen Close and the Vice Chair of the Governing Body is Mrs Kirsty Regan. The Governing Body’s structure and membership is outlined in the table below and within that structure it has the following committees:



Name of Chair

Finance and Staffing


Mr S Close

Public Relations and Communications


Mrs S Wallace



Fr. D Twomey



Mrs K Regan

Recently appointed

Mrs Maureen Rowntree
LA - Finance & Staffing
Term of office 28/08/15 to 27/08/19 (Current)

Revd David Twomey
Co-opted - 
Term of office 07/10/15 to 06/10/19 


The School Governing Body at present is composed of:
  • 3 Parent Governors
  • 1 LA Governors
  • 3  Staff Governors
  • 2 Co Opted Governors
  • 3 vacancies remain
The term of office for all Governors is four years.

Annual Statement


Parent Governors 
are nominated and elected by the parents of registered children at the school and must be parents themselves at the time of their election.

Local Authority Governors
are appointed by the LA.

Staff Governors
are nominated and elected by the staff of the School. A Staff Governor can serve only as long as they remain a member of the School staff.

Co-opted Governors
are chosen by the Parent, Staff and LA governors.

The minutes of the Governors’ meetings are available to be read within school & on request to the Clerk to the Governors, Mrs K Reed.